Think before you type. Even after you delete an account, some information can remain in Facebook's servers for up to 90 days.
Protect your basic information. Set a specific audience for your profile item, such as where you live and where you work (or don't include that information at all). Sharing that information with "friends of friends" could mean an audience of thousands of people.
Turn off Tag Suggest. Why should Facebook automatically recognize your face?
Block snoopy apps and sites. Friend might be unknowingly sharing information about you with the apps they use. Use controls to limit what the apps can see.
Set your wall to an unpublic status and consider "unsharing." You don't really need to share everything with everyone. Really!
You can always deactivate.